Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Terry and Wojick Earn Individual Gold at Indoor Championships

Jennica Terry hurdles win at 2020 indoor champs

LANCSTER, Pa. – It was an historic performance by the Bryn Mawr track & field team earlier Sunday afternoon at the Centennial Conference Indoor Championships. Jennica Terry and Kass Wojcik each earned individual championships on the day, the first time the Owls have ever featured multiple individual champions at the meet. Those performances, along with several other great efforts from the Owls, helped give Bryn Mawr a seventh place finish as a team, their best performance at Championships in over a decade.

Jennica Terry already held the title of fastest woman in the Bryn Mawr track & field record books going into Sunday's competition, but she went out and boosted that standing even further with an incredible day. She started in the 60 meter hurdles, where she absolutely dominated the field and won going away. Terry posted a time of 8.93 seconds in the event, absolutely crushing her previous mark of 9.04 seconds and becoming the first woman in Bryn Mawr indoor track history to go under nine seconds in the event. That result also gave Bryn Mawr an important 10 points in the team competition.

Terry wasn't satisfied with just one new school record on the day, though. After tying her own school record in yesterday's prelims of the 60 meter dash, the junior went out and smashed that mark on Sunday in the finals. Terry claimed second place in the event, surpassing her own previous best and resetting the school record with a blazing time of 7.93 seconds. That mark also earned another eight points towards Bryn Mawr's total in the team standings.

Meanwhile, Kass Wojcik was making noise elsewhere on the track, starting with the 400 meter dash. The sophomore put together a great race in that event, throwing down a collegiate best performance with a time of 1:01.19 to take fourth place overall. That was just about a second back from the top two finishers, but still good enough to earn five more valuable points for the Owls.

She wasn't done there, however, as Wojcik and Terry combined in one final event that may have been one of the upsets of the day at Championships. Wojcik came into the event with the sixth-fastest time this season out of all her other competitors. That proved irrelevant when she hit the track on Sunday though, as she threw down a blazing time of 26.54. That mark is a new collegiate best and was the fastest time of the day, making Wojcik the champion of the event. Terry also put on a great performance in the very same heat, breaking the 27-second mark for the first time this season en route to a fourth place finish overall. Those finishes added another 15 points to the Owls' haul on the day.


Running in the final indoor championships of her career, Anna Kyle gained the Owls even more points with a strong finish in the mile. Kyle posted a time of 5:21.76 in the event, earning her a seventh-place finish and two more points for her team.

The Owls also got excellent performances in their two relays on the day. In the 4x400, the Owls beat out Franklin & Marshall to take seventh place in the event. Bryn Mawr's squad of Fisher, Amelia McDonnell, Carey Parker, and Kyle easily surpassed their season best in the event, running a 4:32.57. The Owls also earned an eighth-place finish in the 4x800, with Wojick, McDonnell, Parker, and Kyle running another season best of 10:15.88.

Margaret Hardigg got her first taste of Centennial Conference Championship action on Sunday, as the first-year competed in the high jump. Hardigg took 12th place on the day, finishing with a high of 1.41 meters in the event.

In the long jump, Lydia Fisher took 24th with a long of 3.92 meters. Fellow senior Alexis Boutchie threw a long of 8.57 meters in the shot put to take 19th in that event.

With the fantastic performances, the Owls took seventh place as a team at Championships this year. That marks the best finish for Bryn Mawr at Centennial Conference Championships – indoor or outdoor – since the 2008-09 season.