Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bryn Mawr Kicks Off 2020 Centennial Champs With Great Opening Night

2020 Centennial Conference Championships night one swimmer

GETTYSBURG, Pa. - The Owls swim team is in Gettysburg this weekend for the 2020 Centennial Conference Championships, and Bryn Mawr got things going on Thursday night with an impressive start to the four-day event.

Championships kicked off with the 200 medley relay, where the Owls' A team claimed a big fifth-place finish on the night. Varuna Jasodanand, Hannah Soisson, Emmy Wisz, and Ryan Griffin combined to help get the Owls a huge points haul from the event. Wisz in particular put on a great showing, swimming the third-fastest fly leg of the A final. That helped push Bryn Mawr to a final time of 1:55.87 in the event, smashing their previous season best by almost a full time. That finish was also good enough to earn fifth place, thanks as well to a pair of disqualifications, giving Bryn Mawr 28 points towards their team total right off the bat.

In the B final of the same event, the Owls once again claimed another fifth place finish. Anna Danesh, Maggie Hernan, Rachel Adlai-Gail, and Sophia Goldstein combined to swim a 2:03.26 in the event, beating out McDaniel's B team and earning another eight points towards the team total.

In the second event of the night, the 800 free relay, the Owls earned a seventh place finish in the A final. The quartet of Becca Adlai-Gail, Madelyn Schwimmer, Kelly Peterson, and Maya Schneider combined to post a time of 8:17.68 in the event. That beat Bryn Mawr's previous season best in the event by almost 13 full seconds and got the Owls another 24 points.

Bryn Mawr earned another fifth-place finish in the B final as well, picking up another eight points. Danesh, Faith Meacham, Rachel Adlai-Gail, and Wisz combined to swim an 8:51.97 in the event.

After the two relay results on Thursday night, the Owls sit in fourth place out of seven in the team standings. The Championships will pick back up on Friday morning at 10:00 AM with the first round of individual event prelims.