Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Owls Field Hockey Sees Record 17 Athletes Named to NFHCA National Academic Squad

NFHCA Academic Squad

BROCKPORT, N.Y. - The National Field Hockey Coaches Association has released their National Academic Squad awards for the 2020-21 year, and the Bryn Mawr field hockey program earned plenty of praise with the news. The Owls featured a program record 17 student-athletes who earned Academic Squad status, surpassing their previous high of 15 from the 2018-19 season.

The Division III National Academic Squad program honors student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2020-2021 academic year.

Rebecca Britt led the way for the Owls by earning the honor for her fourth consecutive year. She becomes one of just 220 student-athletes from across Division III to have earned this honor all four years of her career. Other seniors to draw recognition included Kelly Bergman and Logan Wallace Shepherd.

Nearly the entire junior class pulled in the honor as well, as Erin Chung, Sophia Guerrero, Anna Hartzell, Ryann McManus, and Alina Peon were named to the list. For Chung, Hartzell, McManus, and Peon, it is the third consecutive year they have earned the honor.

Sophomores to earn the honor included Paige Davis, Meghan O'Shea, and Paige Schaefer, with Davis and O'Shea earning their way onto the list for the second straight year.

A bevy of first-years also made the cut thanks to their hard work in their first semester. Sarah Chapman, Amelia Christensen, Ashlyn Darling, Alaura Enright, Hallie Kern, and Izzy Robinson-Cloete all earned the honor in their first year with the program.

Click HERE to view the full National Academic Squad release from the NFHCA.

Two Division III academic awards remain to be announced — the NFHCA Division III Scholars of Distinction will be announced on March 23 and the NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Awards will be released on March 29.