Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wellesley Claims Seven Sisters Championship; Bryn Mawr Takes Fifth

Wellesley Claims Seven Sisters Championship; Bryn Mawr Takes Fifth

BRYN MAWR, Pa. - Wellesley College took the top four spots and seven of the top ten to win the 2015 Seven Sisters Cross Country Championship, hosted by Bryn Mawr earlier Sunday morning.

The Blue finished with a team score of 16, easily outpacing the rest of the teams in attendance. The margin between second and third was incredibly tight, as Mount Holyoke just beat out Vassar by a score of 79 to 81. Smith College took home fourth place with 118 points, with the host Owls nipping at their heels with 120. St. Catherine's finished sixth with 142 points, and Simmons rounded out the finishers with a 173-point seventh place finish.

Wellesley senior Priyanka Fouda took the individual championship with a sparkling time of 22:58 on the chilly morning. It was the second straight victory in the event for Fouda, who took the win last year at Mount Holyoke as well. It was all Wellesley on the day, as Fouda beat out three fellow Blue runners for the top spot. Junior Mary Keenan and freshman Mary Naas finished neck-and-neck for second and third, nine seconds behind their compatriot with times of 23:07. Sharon Ng took home fourth place with a time of 23:11, while host Bryn Mawr was the lone other school to get a top-five finish, as senior Hannah Hastings put on a great showing to finish in a top of 23:15.

Those five runners were each named to the All-Seven Sisters team, along with Carolyn Chelius, Isabella King, and Alessandra Gavin of Wellesley, Kathleen Ferrall of Smith, and Sunny Shan of Mount Holyoke.

The Owls also got impressive performances from the rest of their top seven. Kate Edwards took home 19th place with a time of 23:58. Rebekah Gallop finished close behind with a time of 24:49 for a 35th place finish. Senior Alex Beda took home 42nd for the Owls with a time of 25:02. Ashley Macina (25:22), Marina Herbst (26:15), and Haley Varnum (26:26) rounded out the top seven for Bryn Mawr on the day.

Other Owls finishers included first year Sophie Webb (27:26), who took 70th in her first appearance in the event. Claire Petitt (27:58) and Yue Yang (28:02) finished back-to-back, and so did Lily Falk (28:25) and Sarah Ledger (28:27). Seniors Marissa Mirecki (30:20) and Margaret Patchin (33:14) both posted very solid times in their final time running the Seven Sisters race.

This marks the second-straight team victory for Wellesley at Seven Sisters, and their eleventh in Seven Sisters Cross Country history.

All Seven Sisters Team
Priyanka Fouda, Wellesley (22:58.1)
Mary Keenan, Wellesley (23:07.2)
Mary Naas, Wellesley (23:07.8)
Sharon Ng, Wellesley (23:11.5)
Hannah Hastings, Bryn Mawr (23:15.8)
Carolyn Chelius, Wellesley (23:29.3)
Kathleen Ferrall, Smith (23:32.3)
Isabella King, Wellesley (23:33.7)
Sunny Shan, Mount Holyoke (23:35.4)
Alessandra Gavin, Wellesley (23:35.6)

Team Scores
Wellesley - 16
Mount Holyoke - 79
Vassar - 81
Smith - 118
Bryn Mawr - 120
St. Catherine's - 142
Simmons - 173