Swimming Seniors Honored on Senior Day

Swimming Seniors Honored on Senior Day

BRYN MAWR, Pa. – The Bryn Mawr College senior swimmers, all five of them, were honored before the Owls final dual meet of the 2012-2013 season.  The Fab Five – Jenny Chen, Meredith Davis, Hannah Gilbert, Zoe Guastella and Mairin O'Connor - were giving flowers and a standing ovation as Bryn Mawr welcomed Ursinus College to Schwartz Natatorium Saturday afternoon.

On the afternoon, Bryn Mawr won flour individual races, but it wasn't enough as the visiting Bears topped the Owls 102.5-89.5.

Leading the way for the Yellow and White was freshman distance specialist Rebecca Craig. Craig contributed two victories as she won the 200 free (203.42) and 500 free (5:34.91).

Freshman Angela Mastrianni claimed gold in the 100 breaststroke by swimming a 1:14.14, her fastest time of the season. Bryn Mawr's other win came in the 50 freestyle with Davis sprinting to a 25.93.

In the 100 butterfly, Davis posted a second-place finish with a 1:01.89 while Gilbert took home second in the 1650 freestyle with a 20:08.89. Junior Ruth Logan claimed silver in the 100 backstroke with a time of 1:10.67.

Sophomore Katrina Obieta (1650 free, 21:48.50), O'Connor (100 breaststroke, 1:19.41), freshman Sahara Clement (100 free, 1:01.23) and freshman Carolyn Gee (200 free, 2:14.27) all took home third place in their respective event. In the 400 IM, sophomore Kristina Xiang's time of 5:04.24, was good for third place, but it was her overall performance that got head swim coach Nikki Whitlock  to say "simply amazing."

The 200 medley relay of Craig, Davis, Mastrianni and Xiang took home second with a 2:00.91.

Also honored before today's meet was assistant coach Kelly Landman. Landman patrolled the deck for the final time. "Over the last six season, Kelly's expertise, experience, dedication and love for swimming made her an invaluable coach for Bryn Mawr," exclaimed Whitlock.

With the final dual meet of the season behind them, the Owls will now prepare for the Centennial Conference Championships the weekend of February 22, at Franklin & Marshall College.