Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cugini and Rilatt Named NFHCA All-Region

Mary Cugini and Sara Rilatt NFHCA All-Region 2019

NFHCA Division III All-Region Teams

GILBERT, Ariz. - Bryn Mawr field hockey got another round of historic recognition earlier Tuesday morning, as Mary Cugini and Sara Rilatt were named All-Region by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

The pair became the first Owls student-athletes to receive All-Region honors in program history, with each being named to the South Region Second Team. Both Cugini and Rilatt also earned First Team All-Centennial Conference honors earlier this season.

Cugini put together a tremendous final season for the Owls, helping lead the team to the playoffs with career-highs in goals and points in 2019. Cugini tallied six game-winning goals this season, a new program record for a single season at Bryn Mawr. She leaves the program as the record-holder in career game-winning goals, has started the fourth-most games in program history, and is tied for ninth on the all-time scoring list as an Owl.

Rilatt earned her way onto the All-Region team by showcasing just how important she has been to the current Bryn Mawr resurgance. Rilatt was a force on both sides of the ball for Bryn Mawr this season, anchoring one of the stingiest defenses in all of Division III while also tallying a career-high in points. Rilatt quarterbacked an Owls defense that ranked top-25 in the country in goals against average, and she also scored nine goals and assisted on five others in 2019. Rilatt also marked her third year on the All-CC team by being named First Team All-Centennial Conference. As a result of that, Rilatt became just the second three-time All-Centennial Conference team honoree in program history, joining Amy Johnson (HM - '03, '05, 2nd Tm. - '06) in that elite club.

This year, 197 Division III student-athletes have been named to Longstreth/NFHCA Division III All-Region teams. Division III teams are separated into five regions: Great Lakes, New England East, New England West, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, and South. Each region honors at least 16 student-athletes on a first team and at least 16 student-athletes on a second team — a region's team size is contingent on the number of institutions within their region.

The Longstreth/NFHCA Division III All-Region team announcement is the first in a list of postseason awards to come from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) over the next several weeks. Next to be announced are the First Point USA/NFHCA Regional Player of the Year awards (December 5) — they will be followed by the Longstreth/NFHCA All-American Teams (December 11) and the First Point USA/NFHCA National Player of the Year (December 16).